National Leadership Conference for the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists

About the ACOG National Leadership Institute

ACOG National Leadership Institute

Contact Information

The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
School of Medicine
CB# 7445
Rosenau Hall
Chapel Hill, NC 27599-7445

Herb PetersonHerbert B. Peterson, M.D., FACOG

Professor and Chairman, Department of Maternal and Child Health

School of Public Health Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology

Dr. Herbert B. Peterson is currently the William R. Kenan, Jr. Kenan Distinguished Professor and Chair, Department of Maternal and Child Health and Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the University of North Carolina (UNC) Gillings School of Global Public Health and the School of Medicine, respectively. He is also Director of the World Health Organization Collaborating Centre for Research Evidence for Sexual and Reproductive Health based in the Department of Maternal and Child Health at UNC. Dr. Peterson received his M.D. degree from the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine; he subsequently completed residency training in obstetrics and gynecology at UNC and training in epidemiology as an Epidemic Intelligence Service Officer at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC). He is certified by both the American Board of Obstetrics and Gynecology and the American Board of Preventive Medicine.


Dr. Peterson served for 20 years at the CDC, where he was Chief of the Epidemiologic Studies Branch and the first Chief of the Women's Health and Fertility Branch of the Division of Reproductive Health. He served as a commissioned officer in the U.S. Public Health Service for 20 years and retired in 2002 with the rank (Navy) of Captain after receiving the Surgeon General's Exemplary Service Medal and the Distinguished Service Medal. In 1999, he was assigned by CDC to the World Health Organization (WHO) in Geneva, Switzerland where he served until coming to UNC in 2004.


Dr. Peterson has authored over 200 scientific reports and has been elected to membership in Institute of Medicine of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Gynecological and Obstetrical Society, and the Society for Gynecologic Investigation. He has served on numerous national committees, including those of the American College of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, which awarded him its Distinguished Service Medal in 2004.